Meg & Greg Books

  • Features of Meg & Greg Books

    Two Read books have many special features to help all kids who are learning to read, and especially kids who have the added challenge of dyslexia or who are learning English as an additional language (English Language Learners):


    • Appealing text and graphics for 6-9 year olds
    • Text at a beginner reading level
    • Multiple levels of text
    • Phonics based
    • Stories with short chapters
    • Each story introduces one new phonogram
    • Each story builds on the previous one (cumulative)
  • Available to buy in print and e-book formats on Amazon, Indigo, Barnes & Noble, Kobo and iBooks.
  • The big idea behind the books

    Learning to read is one of the most important things a schoolchild does. For many kids, learning to read happens with time, patience, and practice. But for some kids, learning to read is tough — really, really tough. These kids often have dyslexia or another language-learning difficulty that adds an extra challenge to learning to read.

    Kids who are having a hard time with reading benefit from learning to read and spell incrementally and without spelling exceptions or advanced spellings thrown into the mix. Ideally, these kids learn and practice one phonogram at a time.

    These kids also tend to be learning the basics of reading and spelling at an older-than-average age. Imagine how tough it is to be on the basics when most of your peers are well beyond this stage. And then imagine that the available books at your reading level are stories written for much younger children. Not only is this boring, but it’s also demoralising. Older kids deserve content appropriate to their age, regardless of their reading ability.

    Enter the Meg and Greg series of books! The stories in these books are designed with exactly the kids described above in mind.

    The multiple layers of text and how they work

    Each story includes adult or buddy reader’s text, kid’s text, and illustration labels. Click the image below for a full explanation of how the different layers work.


    Next books in the series

    More Meg and Greg books are on their way! The next books in the series will focus on these phonograms:

    Book 1 has four digraphs: ck, sh, ch, th
    Book 2 has four more digraphs: nk, ng, tch, dge
    Book 3 has four suffixes: -s/-es, -ing, -ed, -er
    Book 4 has four more suffixes: -less, -ness, -ful, -ly

    • It’s fantastic to have a book series that concentrates on a particular phonogram without extra words that students aren’t able to read

      Orton Gillingham Trainer & Practitioner